When I Loved Myself Enough Part I

September 19, 2011

Happiness, Personal Growth, Self-esteem

This little book is a must for anyone who struggles with loving and accepting themselves. It is one of those gift books that have a few gems on each page.

I will quote from Kim McMillen’s Introduction: ” For many years I lived with a guarded heart.  I did not know how to extend love and compassion to myself.  In my 40th year that began to change.  As I grew to love all of who I am life started changing in beautiful mysterious ways.  My heart softened and I began to see through very different eyes…..The following steps are uniquely mine.  Yours will look different. But I do hope mine give voice to a hunger you may share.”

My therapist told me to buy this book.  I had been to many different counselors since I turned 40 myself.  But this one was different, instead of talking about situations, she wanted me to learn self-love.  I am forever in her debt.

Here are some exerpts from this book by Kim McMillen (In the next blog I will finish her story)

“When I loved myself enough I quit settling for too little.”

“When I loved myself enough I felt compelled to slow down…way down. And that has make all the difference.”

“When I loved myself enough I redefined success and life became simple.  Oh, the pleasure in that.”

“When I loved myself enough I learned to meet my own needs and not call it selfish”

“When I loved myself enough I started feeling all my feelings, not analyzing them-really feeling them.  When I do, something amazing happens. Try it. You will see.”

“When I loved myself enough, I stopped blaming myself for choices I had made-which made me feel safe and I took responsibility for them.”

“When I loved myself enough I began seeing the abuse in trying to force something or someone who isn’t ready-including me.”

“When I loved myself enough I began leaving whatever wasn’t healthy. this meant people, jobs, my own beliefs and habits- anything that kept me small. My judgment called it disloyal. Now I see it as self loving.”

“When I loved myself enough I gave up perfectionism- that killer of joy”


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

