Ten Commandments of Self-Esteem I-V

This is just a little book, by Catherine Cardinal, Ph.D. but a good one. I always feel better about myself when I read it. Only 83 pages, it consists of 10 commandments to remind us to love ourselves.  Each commandment is followed by a few pages about it and then some resolutions to help us keep it. I will list all the commandments and 1 resolution for each even though there are more.

I Thou shalt not consort with people who make thee feel bad about thyself.  (This one is amazing to me.  How much of my life have I spent with others who made me feel bad in the name or love or friendship?)

  • Resolution: List all the significant people in your life and how they make you feel on a consistent basis. (14 yr old daughters not included)
II. Thou shalt cease trying to make sense out of crazy behavior. (!!!!!!!)
  • Resolution: Observe how often a person confuses you or makes you feel crazy.
III Thou shalt not keep company with those more dysfunctional than thyself.  (Well I wouldn’t have my wonderful children if I had followed this one.)
  • Resolution: Choose people whose outlook on life and coping skills are similar to yours.
IV Trust thy body all the days of thy life (thy mind doth fornicate with thee).  (Well, as we say in Al-Anon, our best thinking got us into this mess.)
  • Resolution:  Tune into your feelings.  They tell you what is really going on.
V Thou hast permission at all times to say “NO”, to change thy mind, and to express thy true feelings.  (Okay.  This is a big one.  I was taught that if I said I would do something, I had to.  Period.  Wow.  To be free to say no, to change my mind….that would be fabulous.)
  • Resolution:  Practice changing your mind on a regular basis. (I love it!)
Next blog will be commandments VI-X.  I won’t change my mind on that!
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

